Home > web > Greasemonkey for Google Chrome

Greasemonkey for Google Chrome

Firefox is my main browser for two reasons;

  1. The myriads of high quality extensions available for it.
  2. The excellent web development facilities it offers.

Adblock Plus, FlashBlock and Greasemonkey are essential Firefox additions for any user surfing the web. So far Google Chrome has enjoyed initial efforts at porting the former two; Adblock Plus for Google Chrome (Beta) and FlashBlock, but a solution for Greasemonkey was sorely missing.

Sure Google claims it has embedded Greasemonkey-like capabilities in the browser, but there were significant compatibility issues with many scripts, mostly thanks to Google not porting certain critical Greasemonkey APIs, APIs which a lot of user scripts rely on. Also there were little to no facilities for managing the scripts, nor editing them or for that matter even configure them when scripts allowed such options.

Today however I stumbled upon a Chrome extension called Tampermonkey which is an effort to port the complete Greasemonkey platform to the Chrome browser and I must say that the author has done a splendid job. I tested some of my own user scripts and they worked without a hitch !

For the adventurous, there is even a mobile variant of Tampermonkey which I haven’t yet tested on my Galaxy S II, but the extension has gotten good reviews so I’m assuming it works as well. Having userscripts available on the phone was not something I had considered when developing my ever growing library of page augmentation snippets, and its implication is something I clearly have to take into account for future userscript development…

So thank you Jan for providing the third piece of the puzzle which now completes the fundamental layer for today’s modern web browser platform. Now I can finally enjoy opening up a gazillion tabs without risking the browser grinding to a halt (a problem FF has) and interact with the sites the way I want to.

My preferred consumption of nerd news, with collapsed topics for quick scanning, now possible from Chrome as well without me having to change a single line of code in the user script.

Categories: web Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

